Coat Closet Turned Pantry

It’s wonderful how big of a difference a small change can make in your life.

No, I’m not talking about getting your hair cut (even though I did yesterday) or taking up Pilates (though I’m sure that’s good for you too). I’m talking about storage. Beautiful, amazing storage. The kind that helps you breathe a bit easier because you don’t feel the weight of a multitude of rampant housewares on your shoulders.

The idea wormed itself into my brain after reading another blog. After all, there’s only the two of us. Why do we need a nice big coat closet when we can just install a few hooks in the laundry room and set the boot tray in there? But that would require cleaning out cabinets in the laundry room in order to store hats and gloves in there as well.

That’s how I spent my Friday afternoon, pulling out boxes from the great mount o’cardboard in our garage and stuffing them with the eclectic mix that found its way into the laundry room because we could find no other place to put it. I emptied out all but one cabinet. It can wait until later.

That finished, I could start moving things out of the coat closet.

Coatcloset

It was cleaned out easily enough. The next step was to fill that nice sturdy top shelf with all of my cook books. This was significant because it not only cleaned out one of the laundry room cabinets, but one of my kitchen cabinets as well. I now have all of my cookbooks in one convenient place.

Mr. Awesome got home early Friday evening so I was able to run out (we are a one car couple) and pick up this handy kit. Saturday my folks were in town for a visit. Mr. Awesome and my father installed the shelves that afternoon (after I removed the big metal bar) and my mother helped me empty out some more things from the laundry room to put on the floor of the pantry.

New shelves

That evening Mr. Awesome got some much needed game time in on the computer while I very happily  ecstatically transferred our dry food stuffs from the kitchen, clearing out a large upper cabinet and corner lazy Susan. But it didn’t stop there.

With the new space in the kitchen I was able to rearrange most of my cabinets, making them not nearly as cramped and more accessible. My place mats and cloth napkins are laying flat in a pull out drawer, no longer bunched in a heap in a shallow upper cabinet. The nice new glasses my mother-in-law got us for Christmas are in a more convenient spot, along with the reusable bottles Mr. Awesome takes to work in the mornings.

I could continue to bore you with a long list of everything I moved and how wonderful it is to have them in their new places, but I won’t. Suffice it to say, I am a very happy woman, and very thankful for this unexpected blessing. Having the kitchen and pantry organized has simplified life immensely for me. Thank you, Lord, for a few wire shelves.

Leave a Comment

