A Sparrow Has Fallen

giacomocute

What is the price of two sparrows—one copper coin? But not a single sparrow can fall to the ground without your Father knowing it. And the very hairs on your head are all numbered. So don’t be afraid; you are more valuable to God than a whole flock of sparrows.

~ Matthew 10:29-31 (NLT)
We lost Giacomo Thursday morning.
He had not been acting himself for several days, and even with veterinary care he left us.
I’m a practical woman. I grew up with enough animals in the house to populate a small zoo and watched them run their course. I’ve lost many pets and felt sadness at their passing, but this is the first time since I was six years old that I’ve felt what I can only explain as grief over losing an animal.  Over the past six months Giacomo managed to fit so neatly into our hearts and lives that we’re feeling a twinge of disbelief. We expect to hear him chirp when we come home. I keep feeling the need to check to see if he needs something. We hear a sound and think it’s him. I miss getting budgie kisses. Our nest is empty.
But I’m thankful.
I’m thankful God answered my prayers and gave us Giacomo. I’m thankful for the reminder that life is so brief and we should enjoy every moment we have with those we love, be they human or animal. I’m thankful I serve a God who sees when the sparrow falls, a God who cares about the little things as well as the big. I’m thankful each of my hairs are numbered, and that I’m worth more than many sparrows.
Giacomo was a blessing while we had him. We won’t forget him.
Leave a Comment

