Dreaming of A Potted Paradise: A Garden of Containers

IMG_0428

A few months ago I had an epiphany.

Since the craziness of getting married and our first holidays as a married couple had passed, I finally realized something: I’m the woman of this house and I can, so long as Mr. Awesome doesn’t hate it, make improvements to/decorate our condo.

Bam.

Now, this may not seem like much of a revelation to some, but it hit me upside the head, blindsiding me and chasing me over to Pinterest where I glutted myself with several hundred interesting (and hopefully frugal) ideas of changes I could bring about in our love nest. Weeks later, something else occurred to me, or rather re-occurred to me, as I’d thought about it last summer: We have a large deck, a good sized porch, and a balcony off the master bedroom. Flowers. We need flowers. Lots and lots of flowers.

After waiting for the weather to warm up and putting the idea on the back burner for a couple of weeks, my mother and grandmother came for a visit, bringing with them some plant stands the folks were no longer using. We made a trip to the local home improvement store, and I did not return empty handed.

IMG_0426

IMG_0425

IMG_0427

IMG_0430

IMG_0424

IMG_0429

I must confess that I cheated. I didn’t buy pots, soil, and cleverly design these aesthetically pleasing mixed containers myself.

They came that way.

They were on sale.

I hope to plant some large containers myself in the future, as my vision for our deck contains even more flowers than these beauties (think opening credits of My Fair Lady). Our porch is still bare and unwelcoming, and I’m fantasizing about our balcony looking like one of those European balconies you see in travel photos. But what we have is an excellent start, and I am thankful to get to look out our windows and see these colorful ambassadors of the beauty of God’s creation.

And God said, Let the earth bring forth grass, the herb yielding seed, and the fruit tree yielding fruit after his kind, whose seed is in itself, upon the earth: and it was so.

And the earth brought forth grass, and herb yielding seed after his kind, and the tree yielding fruit, whose seed was in itself, after his kind: and God saw that it was good.

Genesis 1:11-12 (KJV)

IMG_0423

 

Leave a Comment

